Tags

, , , , ,

Well, it’s finally time for the next phase on this journey, but first I want to thank each of you who took the time to read my first post about this new cancer adventure I am on. This is mostly a platform for me to process what all is going on, but to have the support and friendship of so many also makes it easier.

I have been mulling over this post for a couple of weeks, so it will most likely hop around – which is how my attention span has been at times and I can’t even blame the treatments yet!

Good news, my PET scan came back clean so I am only having to deal with the current diagnosis, yay! Starting the chemotherapy treatments was delayed by a couple of weeks though to let the port incision heal more after I developed cellulitis at the site. For the first week it was touch and go on whether it would heal or open back up, luckily it is almost completely healed, double yay! The power port stays!

These last two weeks have been busy trying to prep for the beginning of chemo and how it will affect me after each treatment. Last week there was a chemo class to go over the process of when I go in for the appointment, the medicines and what they are supposed to help (in addition to the chemo meds), side effects, things to watch out for and how to cope in between treatments.

We went shopping for the things to have on hand to help with the side effects, like mouthwash, toothbrushes, painrelievers, but then yesterday I start thinking about what types of snacks to have on hand while I am there. Snacks aren’t easy when you’ve cut out a lot of junk/ processed food, but I’ve come up with some easy choices- and I’m giving myself grace if I do eat a bit of junk food here and there.

Aside from all of you who offered support in comments from the last post, I can not forget the ACS Cancer Survivors group in Second Life. From whining about how to adjust to the port to questions about medicines and dealing with insurance that group is always there with an ear and a shoulder. For that I am forever grateful. And as a wise person told me, if I do get sick from the chemotherapy that means it is killing the cancer. Always a positive!

Speaking of staying positive, managing stress and anxiety has been a challenge going through all of this. One trick I used years ago when my stress levels at work would raise higher than listening to music could counteract I would grab the little bottle of bubbles I kept on my desk and sit and blow them. If my co-workers saw the bubbles, they took it as a sign that things weren’t good and left me alone to work through it- well alone for a bit, they were good friends as well as co-workers so they would offer their support to help minimize the stress in any ways they could.

Leaving you all with a song as I head out for a busy day of treatment! See you all soon!

Sandie ♥